“How Do I Live” by LeAnn Rimes – 40 Days of Country – Song #29 – Lent 2016

“How Do I Live” by LeAnn Rimes
40 Days of Country – Song #29 – Lent 2016

With a Grammy Award winning song at the age of only 13, LeAnn Rimes began her musical career as one of the youngest country music stars of all time. With comparisons to Patsy Cline, LeAnn Rimes rose quickly through the country music ranks in the 1990’s, earning herself ACM, CMA, Grammy, and Billboard awards along the way. In 1997, Rimes scored one of her biggest cross-over hits with the track, “How Do I Live.”

At the time, the song, “How Do I Live,” set Billboard records for number of weeks on the Hot 100’s top 10 and top 40 charts. With over 3 million copies sold, the song was the highest certified country single of all time for twelve years, until it was eventually surpassed by Taylor Swift’s, “Love Story.” Originally recorded for the film “Con Air,” the song is a pop ballad of hopeless devotion and dependance, singing, “without you there would be no sun in my sky, there would be no love in my life,” and “oh I need you in my arms, need you to hold, you’re my world, my heart, my soul.”

The biblical authors had a similar understanding of our need for God. From Genesis, when God created the sun and the earth and humans alike, to Exodus when it was God who delivered the people from slavery, to Jesus who delivered all humankind from sin and death. The poet in Psalm 16:2 captures this sentiment when he (or she) writes, “I say to the Lord, ‘You are my Lord. Apart from you, I have nothing good.’”

Life-Giving Creator, it is good for us to ask the question, “How do I live without you?” because the answer is simply that we can not. We thank you for the life you have given us, abundant and ever-lasting. May we use it for your glory. Amen.

Leave a Reply

