LENT DEVOTIONAL 2015 – 40 DAYS OF CLASSIC ROCK – #26 – “Just What I Needed” – The Cars

LENT DEVOTIONAL 2015 – 40 DAYS OF CLASSIC ROCK – #26 – “Just What I Needed” – The Cars
by Pastor Kyle Durbin, Centenary UMC

The Cars are one of the few bands on this list that holds the unique honor of recording a song that my four-year old son, Harrison, knows all the lyrics too, that being, Weezer’s cover of their 1984 hit, “Just What I Needed,” from Disney/Pixar’s animated film, Cars 2. However, that’s not the song we’re discussing today. The song that lands at #27 in our Lenten Devotional is their 1978 single, “Just What I Needed.”

In all honesty, you could probably plug this pop-rock anthem into just about any praise and worship setlist and plenty of congregants would probably be none the wiser, with a refrain that repeats, “I guess, you’re just what I needed. I needed someone to feed. I guess, you’re just what I needed. I needed someone to bleed.” Just replace the subject being a romantic interest with Jesus. In fact, the same can be said in reverse for plenty of today’s contemporary christian recordings! But that’s besides the point, because in Philippians 4:19, Paul writes, “My God will meet your every need out of his riches in the glory that is found in Christ Jesus.” It turns out, Jesus is just what we needed after all!

Provident God, amidst all of the demands this life presents, help us find rest in the assurance that the grace of Jesus Christ is all we need in this life and into the next, and he has already provided all that is necessary for our salvation. Amen.

Leave a Reply

