LENT DEVOTIONAL 2015 – 40 DAYS OF CLASSIC ROCK – #30 – “I Want You To Want Me” – Cheap Trick

LENT DEVOTIONAL 2015 – 40 DAYS OF CLASSIC ROCK – #30 – “I Want You To Want Me” – Cheap Trick
by Pastor Kyle Durbin, Centenary UMC

In 1975, Cheap Trick released their first single, “I Want You To Want Me,” and it literally did nothing: no radio play, no chart number, no sold out concerts. So, Cheap Trick did what any wise American band did at the time, they took their show on the road to Japan. In 1979, they re-recorded a live version of the song in Tokyo to an audience that sang along to every word, and before the band new it, they had a #7 ranked, certified-gold song back in the United States.

Interestingly, for a song that almost demands a sing-along, lead guitarist Rick Nielsen admits that very little thought went into the lyrics, with the only goal being to create a fun, pop-oriented heavy metal song. That being said, there are few who can’t help but chant, “I want you to want me. I need you to need me. I’d love you to love me,” when the song starts playing. In book of Revelation (3:20), one could almost picture Jesus singing the same lines to us, or perhaps, re-enacting the famous scene from the film, “Say Anything,” standing outside our door with Cheap Trick blaring from his boombox as he tells us, “Look! I’m standing at the door and knocking. If any hear my voice and open the door, I will come in to be with them, and will have dinner with them, and they will have dinner with me.”

Persistent Savior, we feel you knocking on our hearts, yet we are hesitant to open our doors to you. Thank you for your unfailing love. May we desire you in our lives as much as you desire our faith and love. Amen.

Leave a Reply

